Xericstyle

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Texas native larkspur and giant onion blossoms…

imageveggie gardens can be BEAUTIFUL and USEFUL!

 

***ideally you do not want your onions to flower…the plant uses too much energy on the flower and not the bulb.  BUT ….these onions are still useful and taste great!  I am really thinking about onions as an ornamental to allow to flower these huge orbs…they are modern and punctuate the garden.  And they are onions!  …georgia sweet and a few red….

9 Comments

  1. I put out larkspur seed earlier this year but it didn’t germinate well. I’ll console myself with this beautiful display and get better organized for next year because Wow! Who wouldn’t want both? I know I do!

    • I hear ya! I want it all too….oh boy do I ever ;). We planted the seeds just before Thanksgiving… -xericstyle

      • Tiffan

        THANK YOU for that bit of info! I’m over in Houston and I planted larkspur in February and they definitely did NOT do anything other than pout. I’ll put out my wildflower seeds around thanksgiving. Love the look, very South Texas!

      • Totes! Keep me posted!!! -xericstyle

  2. What a pretty combination! I love seeing flowers in a veggie garden:)

    • I know you do, gal! :) -xericstyle

  3. Beautiful! I wouldn’t have imagined that larkspur would do so well in Texas – their water needs present an issue here. Maybe I’ll have to try them again if our winter rains return to some level near normal next year.

    • Lucky for me they were in a veggie bed that gets regular irrigation. Although, that said, they are all over my neighborhood naturally… I wish I could give you more info. I hope they do work out for you, Kris! -xericstyle

  4. good idea to pretty up the veggie garden. I also have a few onions at the same blooming stage….I didn’t do so well on my onions. Only a few seem to be bigger than 3 inch diameter. I think my soil compacted itself too much. I will add Perlite and some compost later in the year after all the onions have been pulled.

Leave a Reply

my florida meadow

hello wildflowers, goodbye lawn

MontedasOliveiras-Gardening in Portugal

A garden adventure in the Algarve

Under the Pecan Leaves

Walk in beauty outside and you walk in beauty inside

Crisply Spoken

Photography of Thought

Central Texas Gardener Blog

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

T h e | D e e p | M i d d l e

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

It's A Dry Heat

outdoor living on the border + beyond

Growing Optimism

A novice gardner dives in.....during the central Texas drought.

Fairegarden

Gardening on a slope in Southeast Tennessee

Plano Prairie Garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rhone Street Gardens

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

danger garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rock-Oak-Deer

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Digging

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

thedesertedge

Just another WordPress.com site

The Soulsby Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

