Xericstyle

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

The backyard party garden – A.K.A. “the beer garden”

I have been blogging less, but still working hard.  Here are a few before and after shots of my backyard progress…never a dull moment around here!Back of house and side yard BEFOREAbove is where we started.Larger side yard "before"The next step for me was figuring out how we used the yard, and how we wanted to use the yard.  I designed the back garden to be ultra functional.2013-03-31_09-26-58_1Once the bones were in, we had a highly usable space already!  I love the massive informal patio space, we use it all the time.  The floating herb garden is just a few steps from the kitchen, and that is also very useful.  For me, function is first, and once you figure that out, making it beautiful is the easy part.  Plant it up baby!  left side yard BEFOREHere is another view….wasted space!2014-06-22_17-36-32After: Things are still filling in, but planted.  I am working on creating a colorful, child and adult friendly party garden!2014-06-22_17-36-48Tangerine tee-pee trellis looks cheery with hot orange zinnias…I plan to grow a climber up it a.s.a.p.2014-06-22_17-37-46Fence line is planted with pomegranate tree (Punica granatum ‘Austin’), shoestring acacia tree (Acacia stenophylla), crossvine (Bignonia capreolata ‘Tangerine Beauty’), Thryallis (Galphimia glauca), firecracker fern (Russelia equisetiformis), blackfoot daisy (Melampodium leucanthum), Mexican oregano (Lippia graveolens), upright rosemary (Rosmarinus officinalis ‘Arp’) , and meyer lemon tree (Citrus limon ‘Improved Meyer’).  Containers add more party color and ‘dress up’ the space.  Note: Shoestring acacia was fine this past COLD winter, it sailed through actually, in this protected spot here in San Antonio.2014-06-22_17-38-16And here is looking back, at the frogfruit and horseherb native “lawn” project.  This has turned out to be a great choice for us.  Once I got over the fact that it “looks messy.”  It is no mow, next to no water, and it is steppable and attracts wildlife.  I had a moment a couple of months ago…my kids were outside daily in it catching butterflies and watching bees…it was then I had my epiphany…this was the right choice for my family.  I finally had the yard my kids WANTED to be in.  Interesting, eh?  The grass did not draw them…this did!

 

Happy Summer to all!

18 Comments

  1. melissamontgomery911391518

    Looking good heather!
    From: Xericstyle Reply-To: Xericstyle Date: Sunday, 22 June, 2014 3:22 PM To: montgomery Subject: [New post] The backyard party garden ­ A.K.A. ³the beer garden²
    WordPress.com xericstyle posted: “I have been blogging less, but still working hard. Here are a few before and after shots of my backyard progress…never a dull moment around here!Before : well…nothing.Before: Better…Before: another viewAfter: Things are still filling in, but plante”

    • Thank you, Melissa! Xo-xericstyle

  2. OK first I’ll admit I love-love-love me some before and after shots. These are especially great because they are showing the much neglected in blogging interim phase, rather than jumping from “nothing” all the way to “finished”. The difference the definition of your areas makes is telling, and those orange teepees are show-stoppers even without anything climbing on them. I can’t wait to see future shots of your trees getting taller and the plants filling in but it is obvious a lot of fun will be had all along the way.

    • Thanks so much…I try to take pics as things progress….but I certainly fall short most of the time. I have been neglecting my blog for too long. It feels good to post! Cheers Deb! – xericstyle

  3. I love your fun garden and you’re right, function should always come first and then the rest should just click in, nice!

    • Thank you, Christina:). Now if I could only grow those lilies you do! ;) – xericstyle

  4. It’s a bright, happy space, Heather, and sure to look better and better as your new additions grow up. Great job! I’m currently deliberating on the fate of one of my own lawn areas, which went from ugly to hideous after our May heatwaves – one way or another, it’s going to change.

    • Thank you!!! I CANNOT WAIT to see what changes you make :)- xericstyle

  5. Incredible transformation. LOVE the Tangerine tee-pee trellis and the colorful containers. The paint color on the house is gorg! Your neighbors must be so happy…. They have the coolest neighbors ever:)

    • Haaaaaa! I think the coolest neighbor in our group is Jennifer…have you seen her Texas house!!!! All done with HER two hands!!!!!- xericstyle

  6. What a great job! It’a amazing how plantings can transform an area. Enjoy!

    • I am with ya on that! Plants can solve a lot of problems!!!!!!- xericstyle

  7. I have been watching the progress of your garden for a while and I love the direction you have chosen. The bold colors hanging planters are really special.

    • Thank you, Charlie!!!! I appreciate your feedback:) – xericstyle

  8. I love your orange bamboo trellis, and I LOVE hearing that your frogfruit lawn is a success after all. Yay! What a wonderful story about your kids playing in it in a way they never did with a traditional lawn.

    • Pam….it was an emotional moment:). I know you know the feelin’!!!! -xericstyle

  9. It looks great. I love my horseherb sections too. Did you put a liner under the decomposed granite or something else to keep it from getting mushy when it is wet?

    • Hi Marti :)! Nope…nothing at all. After it was compacted with roller ( drum with water deal) it was a tad mushy’ish the first year…but after years of traffic and hard rains, it is quite compact and hard. Hope that helps!- xericstyle

Leave a Reply

my florida meadow

hello wildflowers, goodbye lawn

MontedasOliveiras-Gardening in Portugal

A garden adventure in the Algarve

Under the Pecan Leaves

Walk in beauty outside and you walk in beauty inside

Central Texas Gardener Blog

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

T h e | D e e p | M i d d l e

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

It's A Dry Heat

outdoor living on the border + beyond

Growing Optimism

A novice gardner dives in.....during the central Texas drought.

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Plano Prairie Garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rambling Wren

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

danger garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rock-Oak-Deer

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Digging

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

thedesertedge

Just another WordPress.com site

The Soulsby Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

