Xericstyle

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Wildflowers still a blazin’

My daily view…it really does take my breath away.  Every day there is a new surprise waiting…another flower I have not seen before.

The Indian Paintbrush (Castilleja indivisa) show has begun.  These flowers are my Texan husband’s favorite wildflower.  For me, they remind me of home in Canada, as we have them there too.  Although they are much MUCH bigger in Texas, but hey, no surprise there as EVERYTHING IS BIGGER IN TEXAS!

The poppies are packing a punch!  Poppies stump me a little – they are amazingly tough wildflowers despite looking so delicate.  Although, when you put them in a vase, they make terrible cut flowers and droop within hours.

I hope you enjoy seeing the wildflowers as much as I do.  I know I have a few posts with them already, but this area is constantly evolving and for me, this view never gets old!

What wildflower is your favorite?

2 Comments

  1. R.

    I know this is an old post, but I just discovered your blog. I love your take on xeriscaping in texas! For the poppies, try searing the cut stem end in a flame for a few seconds before putting them in a vase. It makes them last longer. I’m hoping to have some poppies in my garden next year, but it will be a while before they look as good as yours!

    • Hi R ~ Thanks for stopping in! I can hardly wait until next year to try your poppy searing suggestion! I just love poppies. They are now gone for this year but here is to hoping that my seed bank for next year is good. It is always a neat surprise seeing what pops up in this natural area. I enjoyed looking at you blog – I think it is a great idea to take weekly pictures! I may try it too! Cheers – happy Summer! -xericstyle

Leave a Reply

Period Modern

Mid-century Modern Furniture and Art in San Antonio, Texas

my florida meadow

hello wildflowers, goodbye lawn

Under the Pecan Leaves

Walk in beauty outside and you walk in beauty inside

Hill Country Hick

writing from central Texas about gardening, cooking, hunting and travel

Central Texas Gardener

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

T h e | D e e p | M i d d l e

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

It's A Dry Heat

outdoor living: the border + beyond

Growing Optimism

A novice gardner dives in.....during the central Texas drought.

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Plano Prairie Garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Cactus Buzz

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rambling Wren

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Parallel 49 Palms and Exotics

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rhone Street Gardens

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

danger garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rock-Oak-Deer

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Digging

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

thedesertedge

Just another WordPress.com site

Two Barn Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

