Xericstyle

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Purple profusion

I guess it is obvious by my plant color scheme that I have a 3.5 year old daughter!  I am loving what we see when we walk the garden…  the plants are really starting to fill in and put on a beautiful show.   Would you believe that I had not watered in almost 3 weeks!?!?!  Well it is only May…but this xericstyle garden is proving itself to be Texas tough!  There is not a day that goes by where I regret taking out all the grass in the front yard.  If you choose the right plants, they are WAAAAAY less maintenance than grass.

Vitex agnus-castus – also known as the hemp tree (leaves look like marijuana leaves), Texas lilac, Mexican lavender, among others…

lantana montevidensis

Perovskia atriplicifolia  – I absolutely love Russian Sage, and the smell is so pretty.

Pennisetum setaceum ‘Rubrum’

Salvia leucantha

Aster oblongifolius

Salvia greggii ‘Navajo Dark Purple’  …I THINK…

Leucophyllum frutescens ‘Silverado’

Salvia greggii ‘Purple’this is what the tag said, but I think this is the ‘Raspberry’

Salvia discolor, commonly known as Andean silver-leaf sage.  This picture does not do this plant justice.  The extremely silver, almost white foliage makes the black’ish purple flowers really pop.  I have hummingbirds galore on this plant.

Thanks for stopping by today, I hope you enjoyed the purple.

What is your favorite plant color?

11 Comments

  1. I’m a purple-lover, so I think you can never have enough of it in the garden ;-)

    • Thank you so much Scott! I am really enjoying it….got the theme…gonna roll with it! – xericstyle

  2. You really do have a purple thing going there. I wonder if you have purple inside the house too! Love your xeric garden style. So perfect for Texas and so easy to care for.

    • Hi Jenny, you know…come to think of it, I actually don’t have any purple inside. Ha! I sure am enjoying the garden – there are so many beautiful plants to choose from in Texas. We are really lucky to have such long growing seasons here. I look forward to my garden being even half as beautiful and full as yours one day. Thanks for stopping by. – xericstyle

  3. Beautiful and water thrifty I notice a purple theme blooming in your yard garden :)

    • Thanks Sukhmandir – I appreciate that. :) I enjoyed the reading I did on your site as well :) – xericstyle

  4. zeke

    I love the black flowers…so different…and the purple fountain grass is the bomb!!
    :)

  5. Well done for showing everyone what a beautiful garden you can have without grass! I only have weed (wild flower) filled grass under the olives but no lawn. I look forward to seeign how all your plants develope without water. We grow many similar plants so perhaps we can learn about new plants from each other. Christins

    • Thanks for stopping in Christina! I still have some grass (weeds) in the backyard that I am phasing out….can’t wait. – xericstyle

  6. Salma Quraishi

    wow!! everything is really coming up! starting to see that vision… takes so much patience. Wish I had some of that (and I want it NOW!!!)

    • Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! Don’t we all ;) – xericstyle

Leave a Reply

Period Modern

Mid-century Modern Furniture and Art in San Antonio, Texas

my florida meadow

hello wildflowers, goodbye lawn

Under the Pecan Leaves

Walk in beauty outside and you walk in beauty inside

Hill Country Hick

writing from central Texas about gardening, cooking, hunting and travel

Central Texas Gardener

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

T h e | D e e p | M i d d l e

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

It's A Dry Heat

outdoor living: the border + beyond

Growing Optimism

A novice gardner dives in.....during the central Texas drought.

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Plano Prairie Garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Cactus Buzz

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rambling Wren

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Parallel 49 Palms and Exotics

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rhone Street Gardens

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

danger garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rock-Oak-Deer

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Digging

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

thedesertedge

Just another WordPress.com site

Two Barn Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

