Xericstyle

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Xericstyle’s purple/blue/silver garden is taking shape!

This long weekend xericstyle is a planting machine!  I will go until I can go no more.  I have about 50 xeric plants to get in the ground.  I am enjoying seeing my vision of a xeric purple/blue/silver garden come to life.  Spaces were waiting patiently for for me to find just the right plants I was searching for.  I almost did not stick to my virtually monochromatic color garden MANY times – there are so many beautiful plants out there!  But I am happy I did, and let me tell you, it has taken discipline.  Although, the back is where I am playing with a few more colors – the back garden I am sticking to orange/yellow/red.  I love like colors so much – I like the punch it packs.  I figure between the back and the front I am reaching opposite sides of the color wheel ;)

Provence Lavender (lavandula x intermedia ‘Provence’) and woolly stemodia (stemodia lanata) have joined the front silver/purple garden and they are soaking up the southern exposure.

Look at that beautiful little lilac flower – TOO CUTE!

And I just had to show my Russian Sage again, I mean, WOWZERS!  This plant ROCKS!  If you don’t have this in your xeric garden, you need it!

Enjoy this beautiful long weekend everyone!  Don’t forget to be safe and wear your hats and sunscreen!

-xericstyle

6 Comments

  1. That garden is looking great. Russian Sage is a favorite plant for my yard too.

    • Thank you! Hey Shirley, how long can I expect the Russian Sage to bloom like this???? It is astonishingly bloomy this plant! I have planned to add 4 more to the front garden – 1 is not enough!

  2. well done for sticking to your plan. My perovskia isn’t flowering quite yet, next week maybe. I have it all over the garden! it seeds itself prolifically, Christina

    • You must have hundreds and hundreds of perovskias in your garden, eh??? I need to relax a little – I like plants to stay put and not seed everywhere – haaaaa! I have a lot to learn! – xericstyle

  3. Beautiful! I love Russian sage too but for some reason have never had one — crazy! Your garden is looking great.

    • Hi Pam! Thank you so much for stopping by :) – I thought you had grown pretty much everything that central Texas allows by now – you are my guru! Your gardens are my inspiration…..always…. – xericstyle

Leave a Reply

Period Modern

Mid-century Modern Furniture and Art in San Antonio, Texas

my florida meadow

hello wildflowers, goodbye lawn

Under the Pecan Leaves

Walk in beauty outside and you walk in beauty inside

Hill Country Hick

writing from central Texas about gardening, cooking, hunting and travel

Central Texas Gardener

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

T h e | D e e p | M i d d l e

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

It's A Dry Heat

outdoor living: the border + beyond

Growing Optimism

A novice gardner dives in.....during the central Texas drought.

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Plano Prairie Garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Cactus Buzz

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rambling Wren

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Parallel 49 Palms and Exotics

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rhone Street Gardens

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

danger garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rock-Oak-Deer

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Digging

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

thedesertedge

Just another WordPress.com site

Two Barn Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

