Xericstyle

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Garden Warriors

The heat is now fully cranked here in San Antonio, over 100 degrees most every day!  Although xericstyle is sweating, xericstyle’s garden is NOT.   Here are a few pictures of the garden filling in for summer.

I really love this mailbox planting, AND I catch the mail lady touching the soft blooms often too!   Pennisetum setaceum ‘Rubrum’ is a great height for a mailbox planting.  It is also beautiful to brush by at the entrance of a walk.  It moves gracefully with the slightest breeze as well…

Don’t you want to reach out and touch this??!!!

My xeric planter has filled in – and the plants are tough as nails!   Nassella tenuissima looks groooovy in a planter! – TRY IT!   That is creeping germander  (Teucrium chamaedrys ‘Prostratum’ ) at its feet.

Here is a nice wide shot of the left…

…and here is a nice wide shot of the right.And here is a picture of my latest addition, and what I am most excited about these days….I plugged a grid of Mexican feather grass (Stipa tenuissima)!  It is going to look wicked cool when they mature – I can’t wait!

Getting rid of our entire front lawn has opened my eyes to endless possibilities.  I am having a blast.  It is amazing what can occur when you open your mind…

SO…….how much grass have you gotten rid of lately?  What are some of your favorite xeric plantings for front gardens?  And lastly, is your garden doing better in this heat than you are?

6 Comments

  1. I’m so surprised you’re planting now and not in autumn; the plants will be under a lot of stress. Stipa tenuissima is a great grass. I have a mass planting on my slope, I love it. Christina

    • Hi Christina :) I know – I hear ya- not ideal for sure. I had 50 small pots to plant and was waiting until our new roof was on to avoid steppage. We have had a lot of contractor issues so there the plants sat for ……almost 2 months! I had to get them in the ground. I am hoping for the best. I would love to see pictures of your slope. – xericstyle

  2. Desert Dweller

    How I see why you like Nasella – I do like it (and other xeric grasses) that way. Everyone in Abq wants it to be a dense meadow, irrigate it, then pretend it is native. Yours’ is going to look incredible! Good conversion, and that Rosemary is a new one to me. Glad to find your blog, too!

    • Yes, I sure do love it!!!! I hope I don’t regret it as I am pretty committed at this point ;) I am hoping once it is established, I never have to irrigate much at all – what are your thoughts on this? So far so good on the hill hardy, I chose it for its height. although I did lose one to roofers :( Thanks so much for stopping by!!!!! – xericstyle

      • Desert Dweller

        I used a men’s hair comb to pull out the seedheads as they started to ripen, and it minimized them spreading all over. I only had to water mine the years we had 5-6″ of rain all year…they lived on 10-12″ of rain / year other times, after the first year.

      • That is such great news! So here in San Antonio I should never have to water at all then?? Now that is one tough grass – 10 to 12 inches? WOWZERS! I will try your hair comb trick! Thanks so much! – xericstyle

Leave a Reply

Period Modern

Mid-century Modern Furniture and Art in San Antonio, Texas

my florida meadow

hello wildflowers, goodbye lawn

Under the Pecan Leaves

Walk in beauty outside and you walk in beauty inside

Hill Country Hick

writing from central Texas about gardening, cooking, hunting and travel

Central Texas Gardener

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

T h e | D e e p | M i d d l e

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

It's A Dry Heat

outdoor living: the border + beyond

Growing Optimism

A novice gardner dives in.....during the central Texas drought.

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Plano Prairie Garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Cactus Buzz

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rambling Wren

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Parallel 49 Palms and Exotics

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rhone Street Gardens

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

danger garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rock-Oak-Deer

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Digging

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

thedesertedge

Just another WordPress.com site

Two Barn Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

