Xericstyle

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

New fire pit hang-out converts useless space to a fun and functional area…

Hey y’all, I am so excited to start showing you our new Texas-style xericstyled backyard taking shape!  Our backyard was BORING…nothing to it…stark…HOT…no bones…no garden beds…no defined entertaining aeas…no garden rooms…no functionality!!!!!  That has changed a whole lot in a relatively short period of time thanks to hiring an installer with a crew to haul and lay 10 plus tons of road base and over 20 tons of decomposed granite.  HEAVEN to have that help.  Okay here we go…Larger side yard "before"BEFORE:  Left side of backyard and side-yard.new fire pit areaAFTER:  New fire pit hang out!  We are all super excited about this, especially the kids.  I tracked down a used tractor rim for my pit.  Hauled it on the roof of my car – the looks I got on the highway were pretty funny.Tractor rim fire pitI like how this sunshine turned out around the pit – it is made with re-purposed bricks that are original to the house.  It breaks up the granite and adds a little flare.

This area brightens my days and warms my nights.

Up Next:  Texas-style patio …

16 Comments

  1. Look at you go Heather! That’s a nice use of the space. Love the fence decor, is that a Texas butterfly?

    • Thanks Shirley…you are close…it is a Texas dragonfly…my neighbour made it for me. It is very special. – xericstyle

  2. Very nice! Love the sunburst pattern around the pit. “20 tons of decomposed granite” – Wow!

    • 20 plus cubic yards – I think a cubic yard of DG is close to a ton. I hope I got that right. Either way, a helluva lot. I wanted the sun to look very simple…like the ones my children draw and I remember drawing as a child. The kids LOOOoooove it. Thanks for checking in Steph – I hope you are enjoying your week. – xericstyle

  3. I love your new fire pit area, especially the sunburst — like light coming out of the fire.

    • YES – you totally get it. :) Your pond hardscape got the ideas flowing – I am thrilled you like it. :) – xericstyle

  4. Amazing, nice, and saves the back from damage! You’re motivating me as I get my own (smaller) place in shape for my last days there, and to sell. The radiating brick from the tractor wheel rim firepit…nice reuse.

    • Saves the back alright! Although….I have done 6 plus trunk loads of huge free boulders the last two days …that ….well…not so easy on the back. I guess I saved my back on the granite for this though, so it all works out. You have to strike while the iron is hot and I know I will use the rocks now…and later. I am happy you like David!!!!! Your garden is always in shape what are you talking about? :) The new owners are SO LUCKY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! -xericstyle

  5. Looks good! I’d like to do that with my SA backyard, too. With 5 dogs (my husband is fostering some dogs), there is no grass! Where did you get the crushed rock?

    • Hi Karla! Thanks for stopping by :) Thomas soil and stone … 5 dogs, eh? Wow! How sweet y’all are fostering. :) – happy fire pit making! -xericstyle

  6. I love the way you get on with projects! I’m waiting now to see EVERYTHING! C

    • Thanks C! I will try and post some more pics today – I always appreciate your feedback. I have a fire under my tushie as the yard has been a boring dustbowl for WAAaaaaay too long. – xericstyle

  7. Salma

    Just catching up! too bad we’re almost out of time here for use of that fire pit :(
    Looks like a restaurant beer garden- super inviting. Can’t wait till it’s planted up; it’ll be a total oasis. You are ON FIRE!

    • That was my inspiration – I wanted it to be comfy and informal. It works great with the picnic tables and I may even make 1 more. It can support 3 so I may as well! -xericstyle

  8. Salma

    ps, love the red chairs- good taste ;)

    • Well I have you to thank for that :) – Man… they are holding up well!! Yours? That was a crazy night shopping trip!!!!!! -xericstyle

Leave a Reply

Period Modern

Mid-century Modern Furniture and Art in San Antonio, Texas

my florida meadow

hello wildflowers, goodbye lawn

Under the Pecan Leaves

Walk in beauty outside and you walk in beauty inside

Hill Country Hick

writing from central Texas about gardening, cooking, hunting and travel

Central Texas Gardener

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

T h e | D e e p | M i d d l e

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

It's A Dry Heat

outdoor living: the border + beyond

Growing Optimism

A novice gardner dives in.....during the central Texas drought.

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Plano Prairie Garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Cactus Buzz

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rambling Wren

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Parallel 49 Palms and Exotics

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rhone Street Gardens

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

danger garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rock-Oak-Deer

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Digging

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

thedesertedge

Just another WordPress.com site

Two Barn Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

