Xericstyle

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Garden vandalism – that ended sweetly…

There were these cute kids hanging out in the alley by the chicken coop the other night…so sweet, right?  Then I drove out of the driveway the next morning and saw this…cactus vandalism!HOW RUDE!Poor little guyI was so bloody pissed!  I happened to see them up they alley and told them I did not appreciate this, and asked them to stay away from the chickens and not destroy anything else on our property.Melted!And then, on our rainy doorstep the next evening, they left these cactus gifts and letters.  My heart melted.  It was mature of them to do this, especially since I am not that mean, and I did not tell their parents.  I was pretty impressed.  So I wrote them a thank you card and told them they are welcome back, and I appreciated the apology very much.  Haaaa!

Alls well that ends well!

18 Comments

  1. That’s pretty heart warming for sure! Many city kids don’t have a chance to play in woods and test their skills in dealing with mother nature and probably saw the thorns as a challenge to get as close as they could without being stuck. But what sweet letters of apology and gifts to make up for it. I too am impressed. Through this you’ll be able to introduce them to the joy of gardening that they will never forget.

    • I am sure you are right – they were just playing …my kids have done worse! I am happy to see them again and hopefully my kids can show them the chickens (they were sleeping the cactus night) – xericstyle

  2. That all worked out nicely. Tour them around the garden and teach them that gardeners value their plants, even the cactus. As odd as it may seem, I considered cactus a weed until recently.

    • That is a great idea – and I think you are right, to many Texans they are weeds. I expected them to know not to mess with anything on another persons property, although, I believe them when they said they thought it was the alley…. -xericstyle

  3. That is a wonderful story! It just melted my heart and I needed that right now. Thank you for sharing it!

    • It was too sweet not to share – I am happy it made you feel something good :) -xericstyle

  4. A story with a happy ending! Almost restores my faith in humanity. Almost. I’m guessing that a parent found out either from overhearing your talking with the kids or one of them spilled the beans. My cold, hard, black little heart won’t let me believe that the kids did something that nice on their own.

    • Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! Well, I have my doubts too…but either way, this mamas heart was won over. -xericstyle

  5. Desert Dweller

    Wow…I had similar incidents like that at my 1st house; no “ma’am” or politeness, but no middle fingers, either! I once took a friend (both <25 yr old) out to the desert in San Diego, and he tried knocking a small barrel cactus down; he said I was weird objecting.

    Many seem unenlightened (yet) on obvious differences between an invasive and a native / plant that belongs. Your incident definitely preserves my faith in the good part of humanity, whether the kids or an overhearing adult motivated the repentance. I wouldn't be surprised if your own enlightenment rubs off on those very kids in the future!

    All were bettered out of that bad deed, whether the cactus is in a public alley or private property. Oh, and cactus RULE:-)

    • I totally agree, David – the kids made it right, not by the cactus gift, but by the apology. That took maturity and I do hope they will come back and see us. I would love to instill plant love into kids – it is one of my dreams..

      CACTUS DO RULE! Plants that need to be babied DROOL! -xericstyle

  6. Aw, those kids have character to apologize so sweetly and not get all defensive when called out for bad behavior. Thanks for sharing!

    • Totally! I agree. It really touched my heart, had to share. Chicken soup for the soul…ha! -xericstyle

  7. That is amazing! It warms my heart that there are still kids out there who get it. BTW, love the gomphrena in your other post. I have been looking for that for a long time but they don’t seem to carry it here.

    • It was so sweet, right!? I hope you do find the gomphrena….it is a must have! Thanks for stopping in, Jean. :) -xericstyle

  8. Thanks for a great story. A perfect way to end my day!

    • Glad I could help with that!!!! – xericstyle

  9. It’s wonderful when kids try to fix their mistakes without having a parent tell them to!

    • TOTALLY AGREE! Melts my heart! -xericstyle

Leave a Reply

Period Modern

Mid-century Modern Furniture and Art in San Antonio, Texas

my florida meadow

hello wildflowers, goodbye lawn

Under the Pecan Leaves

Walk in beauty outside and you walk in beauty inside

Hill Country Hick

writing from central Texas about gardening, cooking, hunting and travel

Central Texas Gardener

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

T h e | D e e p | M i d d l e

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

It's A Dry Heat

outdoor living: the border + beyond

Growing Optimism

A novice gardner dives in.....during the central Texas drought.

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Plano Prairie Garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Cactus Buzz

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rambling Wren

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Parallel 49 Palms and Exotics

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rhone Street Gardens

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

danger garden

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Rock-Oak-Deer

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

Digging

Xeric and stylish gardening in San Antonio, Texas

thedesertedge

Just another WordPress.com site

Two Barn Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

